Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Photoshop vs. Paintshop?

I'm just now considering playing with some kind of photo editing. A teacher in a digicam class suggested I try a free download of Paintshop Pro, but I see most everyone here is talking about Photoshop.
    Can anyone offer me some advice? I'm quite "low-tech". My computer has Windows XP. I like using My Pictures & I do have some sort of "Paint" feature, but I don't really know much about using it.
    My main problem lately is figuring out how to easily downsize my pix for posting on forums like this. I also use another bulletin board that needs pix twice as small as this one will accept. Will either the Paintshop or Photoshop easily do that for me?
    Otherwise, I'd like to learn some basic photo fixing, but I'm still trying to hold onto that "purist" attitude of getting the pic. right when you shoot it.

TimothyR Guest
    I'm very new to the digital imaging scene myself, so weight my lack of experience against any other advice you may receive. With my disclaimer out of the way, my suggestion is to try a few trials of different software packages until you find one you like and think you can be comfortable using. I've experimented with both Paint Shop Pro and Photoshop in the past, but find them both to have a steep learning curve that I really didn't have the patience to go through.

After reading this and other forums, I downloaded several freeware and trial versions of software recommended by others. Currently I'm using the trial version of Photoshop Elements 3.0, and like it. It has brief tutorials and will "hold your hand" through some simple tasks such as the image resizing, cropping, color correction and many other things. While it may lack the "power" of Photoshop, it's easy to use and has more than enough tools to serve my needs. The trial version is avaialbe for download from Adobe. http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshopelwin/main.html