Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

dSLR for action shot business?

Okay... I want to start a business taking action shots at local sporting events such as youth leagues and animal shows. I am a beginner but a quick learner. I have a budget of $1,000 for the camera and more for the appropriate lense. I also need to purchase photoshop. So far, I have found buy searching websites and reviews that the Nikon D70 is the best for my needs. I need to be able to zoom to the outfield and catch the action as it happens with great detail. I realize that I have alot to learn and would appreciate any advice related to my camera purchase and suggested lenses.(AFS VR Zoom 70-200?) I plan on making the purchase within the next 2 weeks so I can get in some practice before the season starts.
    Thank-you!

Quote Originally Posted by actionshots
    Okay... I want to start a business taking action shots at local sporting events such as youth leagues and animal shows. I am a beginner but a quick learner. I have a budget of $1,000 for the camera and more for the appropriate lense. I also need to purchase photoshop. So far, I have found buy searching websites and reviews that the Nikon D70 is the best for my needs. I need to be able to zoom to the outfield and catch the action as it happens with great detail. I realize that I have alot to learn and would appreciate any advice related to my camera purchase and suggested lenses.(AFS VR Zoom 70-200?) I plan on making the purchase within the next 2 weeks so I can get in some practice before the season starts.
    Thank-you!
    The D70 will work very well for most team sports shooting. Make sure that you use a high speed CF memory card for this purpose (Ultra II, or 60X+).

If you were shooting high speed motorsports, then you might want to think about the Canon 20D as it can shoot at 5fps (frames per second). But again the D70 should do fine at 3fps.