Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Unsure of which DSLR to buy

I am a complete newbie when it comes to camers and phtography but I want to learn and get into it.
    Now that you know where I am coming from I am looking for a camera to take portrait/still pictures along with outdoor sports (soccer) pictures.

I have been looking at the Nikon D70, Canon 20D, and the upcoming Rebel XT. I am the type of person that always wants to get the best even though I will not use all the features but I am trying to get away from that with this purchase.

The one thing I am looking to get out of this camera is lots of use for many years.

Should I buy what camera would you recommend?
    Should I buy just the body or the kit?
    If just the body, what lense?

Please advise

I was in the same situation a little while ago (the 350D wasn't in the picture but the 300 was) and I chose to go with the 20D. I have learned even more about cameras and I am still glad that I went with the 20D. Overall I went with the 20D for the following reasons:

1. Shoot up to 3200 ISO with very low noise
    2. 5 FPS for 26 shots
    3. 100,000 cycle shutter
    4. Overall feel of the camera
    5. Canon brand name
    6. 8MP sensor (for large photo printing and cropping)
    7. Build Quailty (Magnesium Alloy Body)
    8. Small features such as Custom Kelvin WB and WB Bracketing