Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Diffraction

Diffraction

Ok, I see mentions of diffraction happening at apertures of f/16 and higher all over the place. However, having read "Understanding Exposure, Third Edition" by Bryan Peterson a couple of months ago, I don't know what to think.
    In the book he says there's nothing to it, and he uses f/22 all the time, and nobody has ever turned his pictures down because they were shot at f/22.
    So, what say you? I'm leaning towards following his advice, since he's been doing this for a few decades...

I'm not an expert, but if he's been doing this for decades, he probably used film which could be safe for f/22, compared to digital sensors.
    Nikon D40|Nikon D5100|AF-S 50mm f/1.4|AF-S 18-105mm DX|SB 900|SB 400|AF-S 35mm f/1.8 DX|AF-S 10-24mm DX

Canon A610

Flickr

Diffraction isn't a myth, and you can test it yourself quite easily. Take a picture of something with a lot of fine details at F8 and then at F22 and compare the pictures. Job done.

the key here is to use the aperture that the shot demands. diffraction is, to put it really simply, a loss in sharpness and a general reduction of IQ. it relates to the bahaviour of light when compressed into smaller and smaller holes. look it up for more detailed info if you like. this is a matter of light physics so its irrelevant how long or not someone has been taking pictures...the laws of physics changes for no man...not even ken rockwell !

think of it this way...most lens' reach their peak performance at f5.6 or f8 depending on the lens. take the 85/1.4 for example. i shoot that at 1.4 all the time, and i mean ALL the time. thats not where the lens' peak performance is but its the aperture i require for the shots i take so i choose to get the DOF rather than the peak lens performance. same as f22, if the shot demands it, then you need to shoot with it.