Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Canon versus Nikon menus

I am still trying to find the ideal DSLR
    When I read the user guides of the Canon 60D and Nikon D7000, I find that
    the way to access the different settings in the menus is quite different.
    From what I read, it seems that the Canon 60D's menus are more intuitive
    to browse than the Nikon D7000's menus.
    However, since I have no hands on experience, I would like to know from
    those that have, perhpas the difference between the way Nikon and Canon
    organize the menus in general since I think they may each have their own
    view on how to to this and that the way they do it is not specific to one model.
    Willy

You have no experience and apparently no preference so it will make no difference. You will learn whichever camera you buy.
    What is way more important is how the camera feels in your hands and how intuitive to you the buttons and control wheels are. You use those things for every shot. You don't do that with menus.
    Don't buy a camera based on menus.

Contrary to your statement, I sooner adapt to a camera shape and/or button
    layout than I get used to menu structures that are difficult to use.
    I won't buy based on menus alone, of course not. But the way the menus are
    organized is important to me and I know from experience that some cameras
    have menus that are counter-intuitive and therefore uncomfortable to use.
    I sooner adapt to a the shape of camera or button layout than to "strange"
    menu structures (to me).
    Willy