Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Current State of the Pro Compact Market?

So I've been shooting with a D60 for a few years now, and I've been extremely pleased with its performance and image quality. However, lately I've noticed that I've been taking less photos with it, and the reason is simple- size. The famous saying is all too true- the best camera is the one you have with you. I find myself reluctant to drag along my D60, as it's basically a burden to carry around in many situations (or simply awkward in others). I know some people will yell at me for saying that, as it is quite compact compared to many higher end DSLRs, but the fact is that if I can't store it in my pocket, it's too large.

So, I've decided to look for a more compact camera. However, I'm trying to minimize the amount of performance and image quality I have to give up for size. So, I was curious what's currently the best bet out there for a pro compact shooter. I'm currently looking at the Micro 4/3 cameras as my best bet, though I'd actually prefer something with a full APS-C sensor over those.

So basically, does anybody know of any reasonably compact cameras with an APS-C sensor? I know the new Sony NEXs have them, though I'm a bit put off by the clunky interface/menus. Leica has the X1 with an APS-C, but $2000 is a bit out of my price range. And I believe Ricoh offers something in that area as well?

My questions then would mainly be:

- Does APS-C provide a substantial improvement over Micro 4/3 in terms of high ISO/low light performance?
    - Do any of the Micro 4/3 or APS-C compacts provide similar speed to a DSLR, as in focusing and overall performance? (This is also important- I'd like to avoid anything that's dog slow, as in normal point-and-shoot slow).
    - Do any of the pro compacts with smaller sensors have comparable low light performance to the Micro 4/3 stuff (i.e. guys like the Panasonic LX4, Canon G11, etc.)