Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

wedding photography.

I was recently asked to be a photographer for my friends wedding. I'm nowhere near professional and the bride and groom know that...Is there any advice any of you pros have for a new guy?

I have pretty basic gear (D90, Nikkor 18-200 and 35mm 1.8) and understand its not the gear that makes the photograph, but still...is there anything I NEED to have? I'm going to pick up a flash soon and start playing with flash photography for portraits and such...besides that, tips? advice?

I'm far from a professional either. I've only done 2 weddings (see http://www.dcresource.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47781 and http://www.dcresource.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47994 ) and I can tell you that there's no better way to be prepared for a wedding than actually doing it.

Sure, you can spend hours behind a laptop researching, but I promise you that once that frenzy starts, you'll remember diddly of what you read.

Make sure your gear is up to standard(I.E. Main body, back up body, flash, backup flash, wide lens, decent prime, a fast telephoto and batteries out your ears) Make sure you know your gear and just stay focused.

No better way to learn swimming than being thrown in the deep end
    My Savior, My Leader, My Father and My Shepard.
    I praise thee Lord All Mighty

D700/Nikkor 14-24mm 2.8/Nikkor 24-70mm 2.8/Sigma 70-300mm 4-5.6 APO/ Nikkor 50mm 1.8

Organise a practice shoot with the bride and groom two weeks or so before the wedding day. Go to a local park or somewhere and take plenty of shots and get them comfortable with you and vice versa. No pressure that way. You can then show them the results and they will know exactly what they will be getting before the wedding day so there will be no surprises on anybodies side.

Quote Originally Posted by K1W1 View Post