Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

First DSLR and dont know which lens to get, help please

So I'm finally going to hopefully (since it's not bought yet) get my first DSLR and I decided on the Sony a500 after reading many reviews and articles on it. I'm getting it in a bundle with the standard kit lens 18-55mm DT I also decided that the couple of hundred that I saved by not getting the a550 I'll use to include another lens into the bundle I'm already originally getting so my choices are either the Sony 75-300mm or the Sony 55-200mm my question is which one is better in your eyes and which one would you recommend. Or should I not get either one of them and just save up some more and get something better altogether?

Im a complete beginner in DSLR photography so this will be a learning journey for me lol Also I plan to take pictures of mostly wildlife , macro , landscapes , horses but also just anything that catches my eye Hope you can help

Sophie,
    In a straight fight between the two I'd say go for the more versatile 75-300mm rather then the 55-200mm.
    At 200mm the 75-300mm is sharper than the 55-200mm and, of course, continues on to 300mm.
    On the other hand, the 55-200mm is sharper in macro mode and is somewhat lighter.

Having said that and taking into account "wildlife and horses", neither lens holds a candle to the Sony 70-300 G SSM (except in terms of price) and I'd rather you set your sights on that. In your position and in the short term, I'd look for a secondhand Sony 75-300mm or Minolta 70-210 f4 Beercan which you could resell for minimal loss when you've saved enough for the "G".