Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Canon 7D Image Size Adjustment

Hi. I recently purchased a Canon EOS 7D, a big upgrade from my previous Sony DSLR. I was pretty with the old model and simply can't get over the learning curve with this one. So please bear with me if this question seems amateurish.

How do I change the image size? By that, I mean the memory aloted for each photograph.

I am currently stationed overseas, in the Philippines. We do not have a local camera expert who can help me. I just took the camera with me to Thailand and tried to put the photos on a CD to have printed. I was stumped to see that each image was 7MB or larger and the system wouldn't allow me to save so many on the disk. Yes, I realize that I could use multiple disks and will have to for this job. I simply need to know how to adjust the camera settings so that each photo is takes up less memory. Since I'm not a pro and my images aren't legacy, I can afford this.

Any advice will be gratefully appreciated.

Mike

Once you've taken the pictures you'll need to run them through photo editing software to change the size. Do you have some software that you already use? It's fairly easy to do but will depend on what software you have.

If you want to change the default size of the JPG images (not something usually recommended) there are controls on the "Shooting 1" menu. The entry is called "Quality" and the size trade-offs are shown in the review HERE.

It's probably better to shoot at full JPG size so if you really like an image you can use it at full resolution later. But if this will be too much work, change the settings to the size you like and shoot at that lower resolution.

Go in menu and in the first option you should find Quality where it allows you to change the RAW file and JPEG size...
    Film
    Nikon EM, Series E lenses 50mm f1.8|28mm f1.8|100mm f2.8, Sigma 80-200mm f4.5-5.6