Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Need help Canon Powershot S1 IS vs Fugi Finepix s5000

OK... I'm a newbie to photography and want a camera that I can learn with but that I can use as a point and shoot when I need too. I've narrowed down my search to these two cameras that are in my budget and that seem to meet my requirements. Could you give me some educated opinions on which camera is the better one all around. My big deciding factors are based on Zoom, action shots (horses jumping), and photo quality and lower light performance is a bonus too. I have read many reviews on both cameras and I'm really torn between the two. Any advice??

Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
    Quote Originally Posted by onedayfarm
    OK... I'm a newbie to photography and want a camera that I can learn with but that I can use as a point and shoot when I need too. I've narrowed down my search to these two cameras that are in my budget and that seem to meet my requirements. Could you give me some educated opinions on which camera is the better one all around. My big deciding factors are based on Zoom, action shots (horses jumping), and photo quality and lower light performance is a bonus too. I have read many reviews on both cameras and I'm really torn between the two. Any advice??
    The one problem with long zooms is atmospheric haze. Check the haze on this picture:
    Haze photo . I don't think you'll get better than that over a long distance. The zoom was at full stretch (10x).

I've taken some nice night photos with the S1 and some nice evening photos. The S1 has the advantage of manual control over focus - if that's any help? Really, you just have to try them. Watch out for purple fringing and look for image stabilisation. i leave the image stabiliser on constantly on my S1.

Smile Canon S-1 versus the Fuji S-5000

Well I just happen to own both digital cameras, so perhaps, with you permission, I can give you very direct comparisons.