Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Thread: Sony Alpha a230

Hybrid View

Sony Alpha a230

Hello everybody,

First of all I should say that I am NOT a professional photographer and I want to use the camera for home use and travels.

I want to buy a SLR Digital camera.
    At the moment a Sony Alpha a230 is available in some shops in the Sweden for 3000 SEK (regular price is 4000 SEK).
    I had decided to buy a canon eos 1000d (4500 SEK).
    Now, because of this offer I want to know that how much is the difference between the quality of photos taken by canon eos 1000d and sony a230?
    Is the difference worth for 1500 SEK (about 100 Euro)?
    I have found some sample pictures in dome websites, but it seem, these photos taken by professional photographer and the quality in both case is good, but I want to know the opinion of some people about the difference.

Thank you for help

Hello there, and welcome to this Alpha forum.

The CCD Sensor of the A230 has better IQ (Image Quality) than the Canon; more colour depth and better dynamic range. The Canon performs a bit better in terms of noise at ISOs higher than about 600.

Having said that, any modern DSLR is capable of excellent results in prints up to A3 in size; what really counts is the vision of the person behind the camera and the skill of that person in getting the best out of the camera.

I'm guessing that this will be your first DSLR in which case you should be aware that, in terms of IQ, the lens you buy is as important as the camera.

Thanks for the reply,
    The camera is available with the kit lense. You can find the ads below:

http://www.elgiganten.se/product/fot...-55mm-objektiv

About IQ, you mean there is not a big difference between the quality of a230 and 1000d.

No, there is not a big difference in real terms but it is measureable.