Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Advice on shooting indoor (sports)

After years of point and shoot digitals, my wife and I finally made the move up to a SLR. I went with a Canon Rebel EOS XS. The main reason for moving up was for shooting pictures of our daughter at cheerleading competitons. We never had any luck with point and shoots in regards to the lighting unless you were right next to the stage, which was rare and even then, most of the pictures were blurred.
    I am a novice and need some advice of taking successful pictures this year. Typically the majority of the arena is dark, with the stage being very bright.

I got a package deal that included a 18mm-55mm lens and a 75mm-300mm zoom lens.

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

Will you be taking these pictures from the bleachers or from a designated photographer area closer to the action?

Indoor sports are tricky because it all comes down to how much ambient light you have. If the venue your in has TV lights then you will get much better results then if they dont. Its all about getting the proper shutter speed that will allow you to freeze the frame but still get enough light to expose your shot properly. Things youll need to have in order to get worth while pictures is

1. A fast lens - You'll want a zoom lens that gives you at least 200mm of zoom and has an aperture of f/2.8. The long zoom will get u the ability to zoom in on your daughter even if you are the closest to her. The large aperture will take in more light which will allow you to use faster shutter speeds without underexposing the picture.

The Canon 70-200 f/2.8L is the best choice but is very pricey. Sigma makes a 50-150mm f/2.8 and while its not as good as the Canon it performs well (I use one) and its a whole lot cheaper. Not sure what other options there are for the Canon camp.