Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Looking to buy my first DSLR...Need advice

Hello all,

I am in the process of buying my first DSLR camera and was offered a great deal on a Nikon D60 with a Nikon 55-200MM lense. I am pretty new to all of this so I am unsure if that camera is good or not. If I got that camera, would that lense be good enough to take close up pictures or would I have to get the 18-55MM lense as well? I mainly take pictures of cars at car shows and some scenic shots downtown. Thanks for any help you can give me.

whats your total budget ?
    you will definitely need a lens like the 18-55, no doubt about it.
    D800e l V3 l AW1 l 16-35 l 35 l 50 l 85 l 105 l EM1 l 7.5 l 12-40 l 14 l 17 l 25 l 45 l 60 l 75
    flickr

Also is the 55-200 a VR version or a non VR version?

Sorry, I left that out. My budget is about $600 and the 55-200MM lens is the VR version and has the auto focus built into it. How much would a decent 18-55 lens cost me?

Please keep in mind that the D-40 and D-60 cameras will be replaced in September by the Nikon D-3000 camera, a new model. That factor might also play into your decision, as well.

It also might be wise if you looked at other competing DSLR cameras such as the Canon XS, the Sony A-230, and the Pentax K-2000? And finally, how a camera feels in hand is very important as well. Hands size does differ and the placement of camera controls can make a difference to users. So be sure to physically handle any consumer level DSLR camera that you have under consideration.

Have a great day.

Sarah Joyce

Quote Originally Posted by speaklightly View Post
    Please keep in mind that the D-40 and D-60 cameras will be replaced in September by the Nikon D-3000 camera, a new model. That factor might also play into your decision, as well.