Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Thread: Professional???

Wink Professional???

Two points to this thread. First practical. Second somewhat philosophical.

As some of you well know by now, my particular passion is architectural and low light photography. Now, I've been asked by a friend who is a lighting designer to photograph one her large house projects. The goal ... to capture the mood and lighting as it exists in this house (interior and exterior) as provided by the lighting itself. Any helpful suggestions are most welcome.

On the more philosophical side, I'm interested to know what the members of this forum think about this question ... When is a photographer a "professional"????

a) Because I say I'm a professional

b) Because I'm tired of being referred to as an amature

c) I've been doing this so long ... do you really need to ask

d) Someone actually paid me to do what I love doing

e) I've made more $ in photography than I've spent buying my gear

f) I make more than the National poverty level through photography
    Darin Wessel
    α 900
    Zooms: Tamron SP AF70-200mm f2.8 Di LD Macro; Sigma 28-90mm D macro, Konica-Minolta 18-70 f3.5-5.6
    Primes: Minolta 28mm f2.8; Sony 50mm f1.4
    Minolta RC-1000 remote commander

Film:
    Calumet Cambo CC400 4x5 View Camera
    YashikaMat 6x6 TLR (other accessories)
    Minolta Maxxum 7000 w/ Minolta 35-80mm f/4-5.6 & Minolta 2800 flash
    Minolta Maxxum 5000i & Vivitar 728 AFM flash
    What's next???

i suppose it is when you get paid for it and when it becomes your primary source of income!
    Canon EOS 7D

flickr
    FLUIDR

Agreed, primary source of income. I know an Orthodontist, who calls himself an amateur and shoots free lance for the Green Bay Packers football team with some serious gear.
    flickr

Canon 7D - 5D | 550EX - 430EX II - (2) PW FlexTT5 | 24-105 f4L | 70-200 f2.8L IS | 100 f2.8L IS | 50 f1.8 II

Pay to play ... the only way
    Don Schap - BFA, Digital Photography