Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Opinions wanted on results

Hi all,

I recently purchased a Nikon 18-105 VR lens to go with my D200. I had my first real opportunity today to go out and try it, and I'm not entirely pleased with the results. But given that I'm still fairly new to photography, I don't know if it's the lens, my technique, the lighting, less-than-ideal camera settings, or unreasonable expectations that I have on the performance of the lens/camera combo (or perhaps something else entirely). So I'd like some input/thoughts on the results. I should point out that I've done no PP on these.

In particular, I was expecting this lens to produce slightly sharper results (for example, many of the people that appear in the pics seem a bit soft to me). All of the pictures were taken on a "monopod" (my tripod on one leg) with VR on.

Any thoughts would be appreciated (and don't be afraid to rip me apart ).

Thanks,

Gavin

flickr link

flickr link

flickr link

flickr link

There's plenty of details there, and out-of-camera those pictures looks fine to me. None of the tack sharp pictures you see people posting are straight out of the camera - there's enhancment software involved. Lightroom, photoshop, etc etc. Plenty of guides on how to sharpen pictures on the net, to get you started.

Here's a 50/50 of before and after some quick adjustment in photoshop, just to give you an idea of what software can do for you:

As you can see the detail is there you just need to learn how to extract it. If you don't have any suitable software every manufacturer (Adoble - Lightroom or Photoshop Elements, Nikon - Capture NX, Corel - Paintshop Pro) have downloads available that will allow you to try a fully functional version for 15-30 days so you can see what works best for you.