Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Cool Aperture is worth a thousand bulbs

This thread is a spin-off to answer 'Mish13's question concerning some possible procedural issues she could be having with her α350 and Zeiss lens.

Quote Originally Posted by mish13 View Post
    Hi my name is Michelle and I live on the Gold Coast in sunny Queensland Australia.
    I am so glad I found this web sight, I have spent the last couple of weeks reading all the great information.
    I chose the Sony because a friend has an A350 and I liked his photos. but before I brought it the camera store told me I can take home up to three cameras for a week each before I decide. I tried a Canon and a Pentax, sorry I cant remember which models.
    I liked the feel of the Sony plus the flip screen is great for me because I have a bad back, so no bending down.
    I am a total novice and have lots to learn.
    My SonyA350 is my first DSLR and I am getting really frustrated.I have done two six week camera courses at the local tafe. I take lots of photos but still am not happy with the shots I take. I know its me and not the camera (I hope) I try to not put it in Auto but I end up with lots of bad photos. The colour is poor or the photo is blurry. I thought I would get great photos with the Carl Zeiss lenses but they are no better then the kit lenses
    One thing I don't understand is how do I know what aperture I can use for each lenses?
    As I said I am a total novice so excuse me if my questions are silly, thanks.
    If you are using the Zeiss lenses (I do not know which you have chosen}, some are capable of very wide apertures, but generally what you wind up fighting with lenses is DOF (depth of field) when you go for the brighter image via APERTURE.

DOF is the characteristic result of mainly three elements:
    1. Aperture
    2. Distance to the center of focus (basically, what you have primarily focused on)
    3. Focal length of the lens