Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Choosing from the Digital ELPH Series

Hello forumites!

I have decided to purchase a Canon Digital ELPH out of previous great experiences with the quality of their ultracompacts. However, research has made me extremely confused over which camera would be the best for my shooting needs. I would sincerely appreciate your help.

My criteria are as follows:
    (1) Quality, quality, quality of images is absolutely paramount. I do not care what the camera costs as long as I can shoot the best quality photos. While I am by no means a photographer by trade, I do enjoy composing that perfect shot.
    (1a) Crystal clear and colorful macro shots are a must. I do a lot of photographs of plants and insects.
    (1b) My next favorite subject is landscapes. It goes along with the nature theme of (1a). I love everything from mountains to beaches to sunsets over the river and as a person who travels quite frequently, am blessed with the opportunities to visit many such wondrous places.
    (1c) I would love a camera that took great action shots. I practice martial arts and would like to document tournaments and practices. The lack of clear action shots was my greatest criticism of my previous camera, the Canon SD800IS.
    (1d) I like playing around with perspectives. Taking a picture of a building from the viewpoint of an ant, for example, or taking pictures where the foreground is blurred and the background is focused. I am not sure what kind of features will be better for me here, either wide angle or greater optical zoom, for example.
    (1e) I love night shots (without flash) and pictures of fire. It's so difficult to get these photos though, without also having some graininess.

(2) Optical viewfinder.

(3) Incredible durability. My camera goes with me everywhere, rain or shine, wet or dry, and is often taking pictures every day which means it will get beat up.