Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tamron Lens DX or FX format?

Hi, Im Ken and I am new to photography. I recently bought a nikon d90 with the kit lens. I also just bought a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 about 1 week ago. I was wondering if this lens will work with a FX camera? Why? because I think in the future (not anytime soon) I might want to upgrade to FX format.

How come we cannot use a DX lens on a FX camera? I know that Nikon makes DX and FX lens. Can I use a FX lens for a DX camera? I want to be able to use the lens I buy for my D90 and my future full frame camera.

Has everything to do with the size of the glass. FX sensors are larger than DX sensors (By 50%). DX made lenses are obviously built to a smaller sensor size, so they are smaller themselves, cheaper, less weight etc etc.

By putting too small a glass on a FX sensor, you will create a ring around the sensor that no light is getting too, as their is no glass in front of it. Some FX camera's (Like the D3) have a "DX" mode, where they only use the DX size portion of the sensor to maintain compatibility. But at that point, you've lost most of the point of having a FX sensor.

FX glass works on DX bodies just fine (and some argue, better... but i won't get into that) because their is plenty of glass in front of the sensor. Thus these lenses are heavier, larger, more expensive etc etc.

Hope this helps!
    Nikon D90 : Nikkor 80-200mm f2.8 AF : Nikkor 18-55mm AF-S DX : Nikkor 50mm 1.8 AF : 2x SB900 : Nikkor 35mm 1.8 AF-S : Total Noob : Tips Appreciated! Flickr! Blog!

Quote Originally Posted by N.C.F. View Post
    Has everything to do with the size of the glass. FX sensors are larger than DX sensors (By 50%). DX made lenses are obviously built to a smaller sensor size, so they are smaller themselves, cheaper, less weight etc etc.