Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Sunset Portrait *Flash* help

I tried posting in the strobist group on Flickr, but the responses were very sparse. I've also tried searching on Google with mixed results.

Basically, I'm very VERY new to flash photography. I've always relied on ambient light for my images so I feel like I'm starting all over again in using flash.

The reason I'm posting is because a good friend has asked me to shoot his engagement photos here at the beach. And, of course they want sunset shots. I want to basically underexpose for the sunset (to get the rich colors) but I want he and his fiancee to be properly exposed by the flash.

From what I understand, the flash power will directly affect the subject, not the background. The aperture will affect "everything" (so to speak). The shutter speed will affect the background. Is that correct?

In preparation, I've tried a few test shoots using other people. Using the above thinking, on ISO100, I tried setting my flash on both auto modes (manual seems a little out of my reach at the moment). I put the camera in M however and set the aperture at 4 or 5. I then played around with flash distance and shutter speed, however I was very underwhelmed with the results. I might just be wholly confusing myself. I really just don't know.

I pointed the camera at the background and fiddled with the exposure until it was just a tad underexposed. Then I locked in the exposure. I recomposed the picture and shot. Whole thing was underexposed. I then tried locking the background exposure and recomposing, then changing the shutter speed to get a slightly overexposed foreground (metering off the people). Still didn't work. I tried getting closer, and then moving back. All throw away shots. I'm SO frustrated!