Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3

    Cool Sony Alpha a100 camera error code 0x31 ??

    Hi,

    I have a Sony Alpha a100 and it has been working fine until 2 days ago!

    I was taking a picture using the built in flash and the flash didn't go off and there was no picture taken. Instead, "camera error code = 0x31" appeared on the screen.

    I proceded to reset the camera but the flash still won't go off but the camera still takes pics that do not require the flash.

    I called sony support and they were no help other then to send it in to a service centre to have it looked at.

    Does anyone have advice that would help??

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,204
    Seems like it's happened to a few people that I read of when googling for the error code 0x31. Could be a hardware issue. Can you get it exchanged? Have you tried getting the latest firmware update?
    flickr

    Canon 7D - 5D | 550EX - 430EX II - (2) PW FlexTT5 | 24-105 f4L | 70-200 f2.8L IS | 100 f2.8L IS | 50 f1.8 II

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Des Plaines, IL
    Posts
    9,559
    This kind of specific issue should be second nature to SONY support ... not a shrug. Heck, they built the error code into the camera software ... right?
    Don Schap - BFA, Digital Photography
    A Photographer Is Forever
    Look, I did not create the optical laws of the Universe ... I simply learned to deal with them.
    Remember: It is usually the GLASS, not the camera (except for moving to Full Frame), that gives you the most improvement in your photography.

    flickr & Sdi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    That's what I thought!!

    Calling Sony support should be at least a little helpful and have some idea of what the code means.

    I will try the firmware update as my firmware is 1.0 (an update is long overdue).

    Thanks,

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Des Plaines, IL
    Posts
    9,559

    Cool Updates are critical ... not optional

    Yes, mine is ver. 1.04 ... get 'er done!
    Don Schap - BFA, Digital Photography
    A Photographer Is Forever
    Look, I did not create the optical laws of the Universe ... I simply learned to deal with them.
    Remember: It is usually the GLASS, not the camera (except for moving to Full Frame), that gives you the most improvement in your photography.

    flickr & Sdi

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    3
    I finally got around to updating the firmware and the problem is still there,

    It is supposed to be a common problem but I can't find any info about it on the net.

    I guess I will soon be taking it in to Sony for service!!

    I want to thank everyone for their help!!

    THANK YOU!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •