Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Taking pictures from a moving car

What is the best way of taking pictures from a moving car.

There are several problems...

1) a window (at least some of the time)
    2) the speed of the vehicle
    3) moving distance between camera and object.

I am new to photography but cant find anything about this anywhere.

Is it ebst to set camera to auto (I have a Fuji8100 ) or should I do it manually. I guess a fast shutter speed would be necessary, but how fast?

Any tips welcome
    Thanks

If you are after the wheel and background blur then you don't want a super fast shutter. Try between 1/60 and 1/200.
    Nikon D300 | Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 | Nikkor AF-S 70-300mm VR | Nikkor AF 35mm f/2 D | SB-600 | Lowepro Voyager C | Lowepro Slingshot 300 AW

For Sale:
    Nikkor AF 35mm f/2 D - Like New (FX compatible)

Wish List
    Nikkor AF-S 17-55 f/2.8
    Nikkor AF-S 70-200 f/4 VRII
    Tokina AF 11-16 f/2.8
    SB-900 (2)
    Umbrellas
    New Tripod

Quote Originally Posted by Visual Reality View Post
    If you are after the wheel and background blur then you don't want a super fast shutter. Try between 1/60 and 1/200.
    He's taking a picture from a moving car, not of one. It really depends on what's in the foreground. Fast shutter speed doesn't matter too much if you are far away from your subject, although a fast shutter will help reduce vibrations from the car.

No problem shooting objects in front of the car as they approach. Taking from the side is a different matter. Center your subject while its still in front then pan with the subject until its beside you and click the shutter, while continuing to pan with the subject. You should get a sharp image with 'moving' background. It takes a bit of practice, but easy to get onto. And use the fastest shutter speed you can.

Aha

Bynx - that is exactly what I was trying to do.