Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

WolfProperties Guest

Another "Which SLR" Thread

Hey there guys and gals, I am a sort of newbie photographer. I took some courses in college and really took some nice shots and would like to advance my hobby a bit.

For my main job, I photograph vehicles for eBay, mainly RV's using wide angles to get the feel of the entire living space. A lot of times there is a lack of lighting so I find myself on a tripod with a remote shutter release. My Rebel XT just ist cutting it IMO. I dont like the light body and I get a sort of fuzz when the shutter speed is low. Probably its my skill (or lack thereof) and a combo of the cheezy kit lens. I had a chance to borrow a 40D body with my 18-55mm lens and there was a noticeable difference in the shots. I also like the heavier body because it just feels more solid in my hands. I had a buddy of mine tell me to shy away from Nikon due to a sensor crop or something, but I cant help and notice the D300. The other camera i that range would be the A700 from Sony, but I havent had a chance to see one locally.

I tried to read as many threads as I could, so forgive me if this as been asked before. Are any of these superior to each other in a lower light situation or would that be all lens? Thats my next question, the upgraded 18-55mm lens seems like a reasonable choice, but again I havent seen one. Are they still all plastic like the one I have now?

Thanks in advance for the reponses.

All the cameras you mentioned have a crop so I'm not sure that should cause you to avoid Nikon. A cameras high ISO performance can help you in low light but it shouldn't matter if you're using a tripod and a low ISO. If you get a large aperture lens for low light then you'll have to deal with a shallow DOF that it also gives you. All budget lenses are mostly made of plastic.