Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: AF problem?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    33

    AF problem?

    Hey guys! I have noticed on my XTi that the AF points only light up in MF, and not in AF. Am i just being paranoid? Or are they supposed to light up in both AF and MF?



    BTW: i got my 85mm F/1.8 and I am loving it!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Kitchener, ONT, Canada
    Posts
    1,225
    I would check what AF mode you are using... Mine light up if AF every time.
    My best pics on Flickr

    Follow me on Twitter: twitter.com/garysimmons
    Like me on Facebook: facebook.com/GarySimmonsPhotography

    Gear: Canon 60D, Sigma 18-50 f2.8 EX DC Macro, Sigma 50-150 f2.8 EX DC II, Canon 50 f1.8, Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6 EX DC, Sigma 120-400 DG OS. 1 430EX, 1 430EXII, 1 580EXII, ST-E2, Manfrotto 190XPROB (soon to be replaced by the carbon version)
    Plus filters, wireless triggers and other junk...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ocean County, New Jersey
    Posts
    58
    i never had a problem with mine
    Cameras: Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi | Kodak EasyShare M753
    Lenses: Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 USM & IS | Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS
    Accessories: Canon Speedlite 430EX | SanDisk Ultra II CF 1GB x2 | SanDisk Standard CF 512MB x4
    Software: Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended | Adobe Lightroom 2.0 Beta

    flickr

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    33
    Quote Originally Posted by GaryS View Post
    I would check what AF mode you are using... Mine light up if AF every time.
    Its in the auto AF position. and it still only lights up in MF...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    33
    Well i just got off the phone with canon, and the guy said that the AF points will not light up in AI servo. Any one want to explain that for me? I switched it over to AI Focus, which made it start working again.

    All i could understand was something about not being able to lock focus on the subject?


    Thanks.
    Last edited by clutch; 05-16-2008 at 07:54 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ocean County, New Jersey
    Posts
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by clutch View Post
    Well i just got off the phone with canon, and the guy said that the AF points will not light up in AI servo. Any one want to explain that for me? I switched it over AI Focus, which made it start working again.

    All i could understand was something about not being able to lock focus on the subject?


    Thanks.
    OH! i know what you mean haha. when first got my XTi i was like "wtf is going on!?"

    yeah, i had that same problem and i figured out to switch it back but id like to know what it does that also.
    Cameras: Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi | Kodak EasyShare M753
    Lenses: Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 USM & IS | Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS
    Accessories: Canon Speedlite 430EX | SanDisk Ultra II CF 1GB x2 | SanDisk Standard CF 512MB x4
    Software: Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended | Adobe Lightroom 2.0 Beta

    flickr

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •