Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Dust inside lens okay?

I recently purchased a Canon 17-55 IS 2.8 lens. I notice there are some dust specks inside the front glass of the lens. Looking even closer I see some dust on the glass inside the front lens also. I expected the lenses from Canon to be completely dust proof within the lens itself. Should I be concerned? I am new to SLR's and I have heard dust can be the death of good photos. I am not noticing it on my laptop when reviewing photos but I also have not printed anything yet. Please let me know. Thanks!

Return it for a different one.

I just had the same problem with a Nikon 18-200 VR. Being assembled in a clean environment means there should be nothing inside that lens but glass and air.
    Nikon D300 | Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 | Nikkor AF-S 70-300mm VR | Nikkor AF 35mm f/2 D | SB-600 | Lowepro Voyager C | Lowepro Slingshot 300 AW

For Sale:
    Nikkor AF 35mm f/2 D - Like New (FX compatible)

Wish List
    Nikkor AF-S 17-55 f/2.8
    Nikkor AF-S 70-200 f/4 VRII
    Tokina AF 11-16 f/2.8
    SB-900 (2)
    Umbrellas
    New Tripod

A few particles of dust inside the lens will never be seen in a photo... they will be so 'out of focus' that they won't show up. Dust on the camera's sensor is another story.

However... on a brand new $1K lens... I would expect better. Take it back for exchange, IMO.
    My best pics on Flickr

Follow me on Twitter: twitter.com/garysimmons
    Like me on Facebook: facebook.com/GarySimmonsPhotography

Gear: Canon 60D, Sigma 18-50 f2.8 EX DC Macro, Sigma 50-150 f2.8 EX DC II, Canon 50 f1.8, Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6 EX DC, Sigma 120-400 DG OS. 1 430EX, 1 430EXII, 1 580EXII, ST-E2, Manfrotto 190XPROB (soon to be replaced by the carbon version)
    Plus filters, wireless triggers and other junk...