Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Which picture style do you use?

Hello there. I'm new to the DSLR world, I've just purchased the Canon XSi and have some doubts about Canon picture styles. I just shoot the same pic with diferent picture styles (I tried portrait, landscape, and neutral) and I'm not sure which one should I use normally.

What do you usually do? Do you set a style depending on what pic you're going to take everytime? Have you found any custom configuration that suits all your needs? Do you leave it to neutral (0 sharpness, 0 contrast, 0 saturation, 0 tone) to edit it later in PS?

I really enjoy post processing so I'm not sure if I should leave it always in neutral picture style. I don't know either if I customize landscape style to 0,0,0,0 will it act the same as another custom style in a 0,0,0,0 configuration.

Thanks in advance and sorry for the poor english!

Your english is fine...

I have a custom style defined, which is +1 contrast, +1 Saturation, and I shoot in RAW.

I find this comes closer to how I want the photos to look in the end, but I have the option in DPP of backing out that picture style if it doesn't work. I look at the picture style settings as a starting point...
    Last edited by GaryS; 04-14-2008 at 09:54 AM.
    My best pics on Flickr

Follow me on Twitter: twitter.com/garysimmons
    Like me on Facebook: facebook.com/GarySimmonsPhotography

Gear: Canon 60D, Sigma 18-50 f2.8 EX DC Macro, Sigma 50-150 f2.8 EX DC II, Canon 50 f1.8, Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6 EX DC, Sigma 120-400 DG OS. 1 430EX, 1 430EXII, 1 580EXII, ST-E2, Manfrotto 190XPROB (soon to be replaced by the carbon version)
    Plus filters, wireless triggers and other junk...