Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Grid with 30d

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    68

    Grid with 30d

    Hi, I did a quick scan, didn't find this thread already.

    I have a 30d, and would like to know if there is a grid pattern that can be turned on. My old Nikon N80 had this, my wife's FZ30 has it. I find that having a grid helps me get the horizon, ect, level.

    Durin
    Durin S. Day

    Olympus OM-1n
    Canon 30d
    28-135mm (which is not a good lens in my opinion)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    3,109
    I don't think so... I think DSLR's need a focus screen replacement for that. Not sure what's available for the 30D. Google "30D focus screen" and see what you get...
    Canon A720 IS, 40D w/ BG-E2N, 28 1.8, 50 1.4, Sigma 70 2.8 macro, 17-40 F4 L, 24-105 F4 L IS, 70-200 F4 L IS, 430 EX, Kenko 2X TC & Ext Tubes, AB strobes and more...
    View my photo galleries here: imageevent.com/24peter

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    8,163
    Nope. Canon sucks in that regard. Use your focus points as a guide.

    You can get one for the 40D, but I don't know if it fits the 30D:

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...creen_for.html
    Ouch.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    566
    yea i had it on my S3 IS, and often put it to use
    now i use the AF points as cdi said to try and keep things level
    Canon Powershot S3 IS
    Canon EOS 40D + Battery Grip BG-E2N | EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM | EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | EF 85mm f/1.8 USM | EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM II | 580EX II |
    Flickr - blentley
    CSC

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    4,428
    My FZ20 has framing grid. Even my tiny Fuji F30 has framing grid so I took it for granted that all serious cameras has it until I found out the XTi/400D doesn't have it. Now I realise 30D doesn't have it either... I'm surprised.
    Nikon D90, D80
    Nikkor 16-85mm AF-S DX F/3.5-5.6G ED VR, Tamron SP AF 28-75mm F/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical (IF) macro, Nikkor 50mm F/1.4D, Nikkor 50mm F/1.8D, Nikkor AF-S VR 70-300mm F/4.5-5.6G IF-ED, Sigma 105mm F/2.8 EX DG Macro ||| 2x SB800 | SB600 ||| Manfrotto 190XB

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    3,109
    Quote Originally Posted by tim11 View Post
    My FZ20 has framing grid. Even my tiny Fuji F30 has framing grid so I took it for granted that all serious cameras has it until I found out the XTi/400D doesn't have it. Now I realise 30D doesn't have it either... I'm surprised.
    Well those cameras weren't displaying an optical view on their LCD - it's an electronic view (like a video camera). Now that the newer DSLR's have "Live View" in the LCD, they can implement it. I loved my FZ20 - but in terms of "seriousness", it didn't hold a candle to my 40D (or even XT).

    If you're very concerned about straight horizons on your 30D (which IMO is a worthy concern) and don't want to straighten your images in the computer, then just pick up one of these: http://cgi.ebay.com/Dual-2-Axis-Grad...QQcmdZViewItem
    Best $7.49 you'll ever spend!

    PS - wanna sell your F30? :-)
    Canon A720 IS, 40D w/ BG-E2N, 28 1.8, 50 1.4, Sigma 70 2.8 macro, 17-40 F4 L, 24-105 F4 L IS, 70-200 F4 L IS, 430 EX, Kenko 2X TC & Ext Tubes, AB strobes and more...
    View my photo galleries here: imageevent.com/24peter

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2,124
    Yea only nikon can seem to offer anything more then the bare minimum required.

    Canon irks me in that regard to no end. If you want to find out about a canon product you start with great image quality and the LEAST required to sell the camera body at a price point.

    Tim

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Posts
    68
    Thanks everyone. I'm rather surprised. My N80 had a option to turn on the grid, so I'm sure since that is a film camera you don't have to have a live view to do this. Oh well. Thanks again.
    Durin S. Day

    Olympus OM-1n
    Canon 30d
    28-135mm (which is not a good lens in my opinion)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    4,428
    Quote Originally Posted by 24Peter View Post
    Well those cameras weren't displaying an optical view on their LCD - it's an electronic view (like a video camera). Now that the newer DSLR's have "Live View" in the LCD, they can implement it. I loved my FZ20 - but in terms of "seriousness", it didn't hold a candle to my 40D (or even XT).

    ---

    PS - wanna sell your F30? :-)
    Don't get me wrong. I never intend to compare FZ20 to Canon DSLR in term of usefulness or IQ - the thought just never occurs. However to me, the framing grid will be the deal breaker between similar DSLR cameras.

    Do you want to buy my F30? It now has dirt on sensor but I will get it cleaned. The repair quote is $160 (AUD) but it looks like there won't be real replacement camera for the F30 for a while yet so I will have to get it done. So.... sorry no sell.
    Last edited by tim11; 04-07-2008 at 05:27 AM.
    Nikon D90, D80
    Nikkor 16-85mm AF-S DX F/3.5-5.6G ED VR, Tamron SP AF 28-75mm F/2.8 XR Di LD Aspherical (IF) macro, Nikkor 50mm F/1.4D, Nikkor 50mm F/1.8D, Nikkor AF-S VR 70-300mm F/4.5-5.6G IF-ED, Sigma 105mm F/2.8 EX DG Macro ||| 2x SB800 | SB600 ||| Manfrotto 190XB

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Brookfield, MA
    Posts
    1,140
    Can't be turned on and off, but maybe this is close to what you're looking for...

    http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/page--G...gridlines.html

    On a 30D I'm not sure if it would entail major surgery or not. The 5D's are user changable.

    Mark............

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •