Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,887

    Nikon D80 bulb mode

    I was trying out something last night and found that I cannot use bulb mode using the remote control I have. You literally have to hold the shutter button down! Is there any better way of doing this?


    thanks (and my remote is shite by the way. Got it off ebay...will try a new battery but it is bloody temperamental)
    Nikon D700
    Sigma 70-200 F2.8
    Sigma 85mm F1.4
    Sigma 15-30 F3.5 - 4.5



    http://www.philipduartephotography.com

    "It's better to be hurt by the truth than comforted by a lie"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    37
    is the remote a geniune nikon or a copy? i have been looking to purchase one myself but this is not making me very motivated!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,887
    it says nikon on it but is definately a copy since I picked it up for peanuts on ebay from hong kong
    Nikon D700
    Sigma 70-200 F2.8
    Sigma 85mm F1.4
    Sigma 15-30 F3.5 - 4.5



    http://www.philipduartephotography.com

    "It's better to be hurt by the truth than comforted by a lie"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    793
    Not sure if the D80 can use the same remote as the D70s, but I've got a genuine nikon remote the ML-L3. The cheap wireless infrared remote that only has one button. And in bulb mode the shutter will stay open as long as you want it to. Just press it once and it opens, and the next time you press the remote button it will close.
    Nikon D700 | SB600 | SB-80DX | 2xSB-26 | 18-35 f/3.5-4.5 | 24-85 f/3.5-4.5G | 50 f/1.4 G | 105 f/2.8 VR | 70-300 f/4.5-5.6 VR

    flickr

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    God's Country - Australia
    Posts
    10,424
    Quote Originally Posted by achuang View Post
    Not sure if the D80 can use the same remote as the D70s, but I've got a genuine nikon remote the ML-L3. The cheap wireless infrared remote that only has one button. And in bulb mode the shutter will stay open as long as you want it to. Just press it once and it opens, and the next time you press the remote button it will close.
    i used the same remote on my d80 and i'm pretty sure it worked the same way.
    D800e l V3 l AW1 l 16-35 l 35 l 50 l 85 l 105 l EM1 l 7.5 l 12-40 l 14 l 17 l 25 l 45 l 60 l 75
    flickr

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,887
    achuang

    when i set the shutter speed to bulb "bulb" appears where the shutter speed should be on the LCD dial. if i change the shooting mode to remote (using the same remote you describe) the shutter speed flashes "-- --" and wont let me use the remote. VERY ANNOYING!!
    Nikon D700
    Sigma 70-200 F2.8
    Sigma 85mm F1.4
    Sigma 15-30 F3.5 - 4.5



    http://www.philipduartephotography.com

    "It's better to be hurt by the truth than comforted by a lie"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    1,148
    when i set the shutter speed to bulb "bulb" appears where the shutter speed should be on the LCD dial. if i change the shooting mode to remote (using the same remote you describe) the shutter speed flashes "-- --" and wont let me use the remote. VERY ANNOYING!!
    That is exactly what my Nikon D70s and ML-L3 remote do, except it works. According to the manual, the "--" is what you are SUPPOSED to see. And it should do exactly as achuang describes

    I also don't see why this wouldn't work for you as it is just ONE signal that the remote supplies. The camera takes that signal and opens the shutter, and takes the signal again and closes it. Besides, that ML-L3 is one great little tool, but even full price here, I got it for $13
    Nikon D70s
    Nikkor 50mm 1.8D (If you don't have it you need it)
    Nikkor 18-200mm VR II
    SB-600
    Bogen/Manfrotto Tripods/Heads
    NAS (D300, Nikkor 80-200mm (or 70-200mm)f/2.8, Tamron 90mm Macro)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,887
    ok. I will try again. I think the battery is dying because sometimes the remote works and other times it doesnt. It could be that it wasnt working at those times...
    Nikon D700
    Sigma 70-200 F2.8
    Sigma 85mm F1.4
    Sigma 15-30 F3.5 - 4.5



    http://www.philipduartephotography.com

    "It's better to be hurt by the truth than comforted by a lie"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Windy Wyoming, USA
    Posts
    2,605
    I hope you get it to work. I have the $13 remote and it works for me. By the way, the shutter will only stay open for 30 minutes maximum. Then it closes by itself.

    You can also use a rubber band to hold down the shutter in Bulb mode. It's not as convenient, but it does work.
    Nikon D50, Nikkor 18-55mm, Nikkor 50mm 1.8, Sigma 70-300mm APO DG Macro, Tokina 12-24
    Flickr

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    85
    You might want to check out the Nikon MC-DC1 corded remote release. Works quite well and you can "lock" the release button. I use it alot with long exposure tripod work.

    I was able to pick one up for under $20 on Amazon about a year ago.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •