Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Getting new eos 40d which lens should i get?

I am looking to get a new 40d camera. This will be my first SLR so I am new to all this. I was wondering if i should get the one with the lens kit EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM or should I get the one with a EF-S 17-85MM f4-5.6 IS USM? I am leaning toward getting the 17-85mm from reading about it, it seems like the same lens a little better and smaller.

I will be using the camera for normal family pics, mostly my kids and when they play sports. I need a lens that will do a little of everything. I cant afford to spend hundreds extra on lenses.

Can anyone recommend a good place to look online to buy cameras? I have found different sites but then I read reviews about them and it scares me away. Any info on all this would be appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by scano13 View Post
    I cant afford to spend hundreds extra on lenses.
    Then buy a cheaper camera body. How much are you looking to spend total?

B&H Photo and BuyDig are good.
    Last edited by TheWengler; 02-12-2008 at 08:47 PM.
    Lukas

Camera: Anonymous
    I could tell you but I wouldn't want you to get all pissy if it's the wrong brand

Flickr

I am pretty set on get this camera body. I think I dont want to spend more than $1500 for now. I think in the future I am willing to try new lenses once I am more familiar with the camera.

Well that leaves the 17-85 out then

I am pretty set on get this camera body. I think I dont want to spend more than $1500 for now. I think in the future I am willing to try new lenses once I am more familiar with the camera.
    The 40D 17-85 kit is $1699 at B&H right now, Buydig doesn't carry that kit. The 40D 28-135 kit leaves you $150 for a CF card and a bag to protect your investment.