Sony A100 w/Tamron 17-50 f2.8
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Cool S-Mode issues

Quote Originally Posted by scott630 View Post
    Here is a pic of my new 8 week german shepherd. I think it looks good,but
    I'm still new at this. Any comments on what you like or dislike of the
    pic. I did have to lighten it up.
    Sony α100 w/Tamron 17-50 f2.8
    Okay, Scott ... the thing about "Shutter-Priority" type shots is ... that once you are at max aperture of the lens (in this case, f/2.8), the aperture simply cannot get any wider. No matter how much you ramp up the speed ... you are always at MAX aperture.

Did you check your metering to see what it was reading?

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . |
    100 __ 2.8 __-2 . . 1 . . 0 . . 1 . . 2+

I'm betting that (because you have stated that the exposure was dark and you had to lighten it up) the camera's internal meter looked more like this:

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .|
    100 __>2.8<__ -2 . . 1 . . 0 . . 1 . . 2+

And here you're thinking ... man, it's in 'shutter-priority' ... what can go wrong?

Just to prove it ...
    1. turn on the α100
    2. set the mode switch to "S"
    3. set your shutter speed to 1-second (1")
    4. if you are indoors, the aperture should be some higher value (f/7.1 or something near that)
    5. start to decrease the shutter-speed (going faster) in progressive steps until the aperture indicates f/2.8.
    6. take it one shutter-speed faster ... and the aperture indicator will start to >blink<. This is your visual warning or cue that you are at MAX-aperture for the lens or the selected focal length (depending on the lens). The aperture can no longer adjust for your selected speed, based on the current lighting conditions being metered. You can still take the shot ... but now, the exposure is off, according to the internal metering of the camera.

This is what I think may have happened with the original image of "Montana", there.