Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Pentax K100D Super vs K10D Please help

I'm a beginner looking to purchase either the Pentax K100D Super or K10D. I basically settled on the K100D due to it's price. I've come to this conclusion after looking at the Nikon D40/x and the Rebel XTI. The Rebel does not feel good in my hands and I believe the Pentax cameras offer a better value vs. Nikon (at least on the K100D Super).

I've found some great pricing on both Pentax cameras and am looking for some additional guidance. I believe the K100D is probably the best investment, as I am truly a beginner looking to use this camera for family photos, vacations and sporting events. The 6 MP on the K100D should be fine, but I wouldn't mind the 10 MP on the K10D.....but so far I'm not sure about the image quality...especially per Jeff's review. The K10D is also a bit more sturdy than the K100D.

Additionally, I'd like to get a quick opinion on lenses. Rex914's write-up was extremely helpful...thanks! I'm looking at basic lens combos....a walk around lens and a zoom up to 200 mm or possibly an "all in one" like the
    Pentax DA 18-250mm.

I'm concerned that the Pentax (16 oz) is really too heavy to carry around at all day events/vacations, but I like the F3.5-6.3 aperture. On the other hand I'm looking at either the basic Pentax 18-50 and 55-200 combo or the Sigma Sigma 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 Macro Compact HyperZoom SLD-Glass AF and 55-200mm f/4-5.6 DC two lens kit. These two zoom lenses have a smaller aperture (f4 vs, f3.5) than the all in one Pentax....will this matter that often in the manner I'm looking use the camera?

That's it. Any advise would be welcome. I appreciate any and all comments. This is a great site and forum. Thanks to all those who contribute!

Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
    Do batteries figure in your decision?