Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Hybrid View

Question about a wide angle + Zoom lens for Canon 40D...

After a long research I have decided what camera and what single walk around lens to get:
    Canon 40D + Canon 17-55 f2,8 IS USM.
    I will not buy any more lenses just now, Im planning to get to know the camera (previously I had a Panasonic FZ20) and then buy more lenses. Im fairly sure that the EFS 10-22 would be a good choice for wide angle covereage on a x1.6 body. Can You guys suggest a zoom lens that would be good as an addition to those 2 lenses ?
    Im not a professional, obviously Im not planning to spend $10K on some high end lens but I want some advise on what would be a good wrap up for the 10-22 / 17-55.

If you're just starting out, you may want to save some money and consider the Canon kit lenses - 18-55 IS and the 55-250 IS (think that's it). You can also then go with the Canon 10-22 for wide stuff. Alternatively, I would suggest the 70-300 F4-5.6 IS for your zoom.
    Canon A720 IS, 40D w/ BG-E2N, 28 1.8, 50 1.4, Sigma 70 2.8 macro, 17-40 F4 L, 24-105 F4 L IS, 70-200 F4 L IS, 430 EX, Kenko 2X TC & Ext Tubes, AB strobes and more...
    View my photo galleries here: imageevent.com/24peter

Ive made up my mind as to the 17-55, spent too much time researching to change it now plus realy, I've taken too many underexposed, unsharp and grainy photos with the Panny, had enough.
    I take most of my photos in poor lihting so the combination of 40D's high ISO + f2,8 with IS seems perfect for me. I want a bright lens, period.
    I think Im making a good choice here and money is not such an issue for me.
    Im just a little lost in the zoooms area, didnt reasearch that at all.

Quote Originally Posted by koti View Post
    Ive made up my mind as to the 17-55, spent too much time researching to change it now plus realy, I've taken too many underexposed, unsharp and grainy photos with the Panny, had enough.