Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

nick_059 Guest

Architecture Student First DSLR

I'm an architecture student who is looking to buy my first DSLR for shooting great architecture on trips that I take throughout my career. I'm hoping to have this camera last for a long time, so I need something that has good quality and that will last technology wise for quite some time. Here are my answers to the questions...

Budget
    * What budget have you allocated for buying this camera? Please be as specific as possible.

As a college student, I can't spend too much. I'm looking at a maximum of about $600. Hopefully less if possible.

Size
    * What size camera are you looking for? Or does size not matter at all to you?

Size is not really a consideration for me.

Features
    How many megapixels will suffice for you?

I'm not sure how many I need for photography of buildings and such. Would like some advice on whether I should go 6+ or 10+

* What optical zoom will you need? (None, Standard = 3x-4x, Ultrazoom = 10x-12x, Other - Specify)

Not really sure...I would assume 3x-4x though.

* How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10)

Image quality is pretty important. Probably around a 8 or 9.

Do you care for manual controls?

Doesn't matter.

General Usage
    * What will you generally use the camera for?

Architecture photographs

* Will you be making big prints of your photos or not?

For the most part no...maybe on a few occasions.

Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos?

I'd say probably about half indoor and half outdoor, so quite a few.

Will you be shooting sports and/or action photos?

No.

Miscellaneous
    Are there particular brands you like or hate?

No, doesn't matter, as long as the quality is good.

Are there particular models you already have in mind?

I've been looking at a Nikon D40, but that's just because Nikon is a brand I know of.