Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Photos look hazy, need help very confused

I am a point and shot photographer. I have a new Canon SD850 IS camera and I don't know if it is me or the camera that is causing my images to look soft/hazy. I tried the different presets and the images look very blended or hazy for a lack of better terms. I bought an Olympus Stylus 800 prier to the canon SD850 and the images looked almost burry to me. They were very soft and not what I expected from a new digital camera so I returned it and bought the Canon. The red eye reduction is horrible and does not work. Every picture of a person no matter the angle their eyes are red. The software for the most part will take care of this, but I don't want to spend hours to manually fix this when cameras in the past isnít have this problem. For the past 7 years Iíve been using a Casio QV3000EX 3.3 mega pixel and the image quality looks much clearer/sharper and I rarely had a red eye problem. The image quality for point and shot seems to be much better than both the new cameras that I tried. I don't understand why. I want to have a compact camera that takes good photos like my old Casio. Is it me or the camera?
    Thanks for any advice you may have.

Are you able to post any sample pictures to show us specifically what's going wrong?

Sharpness adjustment

The SD850IS has a "custom color" section in the "my colors" portion of the menu. The custom color section contains a sharpness adjustment that lets you adjust the photos to be as sharp as you want.