Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

rgeib01 Guest

need excellent camera for amatuer photography but still want movie option

I actually really enjoy photography, but I have no experience. I'm probably asking for the world here, but I want a fine camera that takes excellent pictures and that still has movie capability. I thought about letting go of this requirement and getting a dslr, but to be honest, I want the whole package. I want to be able to take one camera with me wherever I go and get great image quality, be able to blow up the pictures to a larger size, and still keep my movie clips. I use them a lot when out snowboarding. And really, I couldn't easily take a dslr on the slopes - I have a canon sd200 and it's nice to be able to just fit it in my pocket. I'd lose that capability with a dslr.

Budget

* What budget have you allocated for buying this camera? Please be as specific as possible.

I'd like to keep it under $400, but for the right camera, I could be convinced to go even a bit higher than, say, $600.

Size

* What size camera are you looking for? Or does size not matter at all to you?

I'd probably prefer smaller just because I like to take it on the slopes with me. I could definitely go bigger than the canon sd200, but still...

Features

How many megapixels will suffice for you?

7 or 8? I just want really high quality.

* What optical zoom will you need? (None, Standard = 3x-4x, Ultrazoom = 10x-12x, Other - Specify)

The more zoom the better. Would prefer ultrazoom.

* How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10)

Do you care for manual controls?

I don't know anything about manual controls. Will this help image quality? Will it slow me down?

General Usage

* What will you generally use the camera for?

Anything and everything. Snowboarding, sports (football, baseball), still life, scenery (ocean, mountains, cities, buildings, etc.), people - indoors and out.

* Will you be making big prints of your photos or not?