Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Hybrid View

SONY A700 & 180mm (Curse of the Spider)

Well ... I popped in on a Spider and sat down beside her .... with the new A700 & the new TAMRON 180mm f/3.5 Macro.

I'm not making any excuses, but I have to admit that it is my first attempt with this lens ... trying to get something small & ... living. When I first came across it, it ran like heck ... as I had startled it by opening the shed and saw it, as it ran ... so I gave it a few minutes to relax and came back, knowing it would probably head right back into the center of its spread web ... only this time, I was armed with the camera, flash and lens. It stayed steady, at only eight inches away.

It was during lunch and I really didn't have a lot of time to fool around with it. So, here it is:

Name:  spider tractor landscp 640 480.JPG
Views: 2884
Size:  177.4 KB

It's a little larger than lifesize ... but, still big enough to scare the crap out of ya. Heck, the web is at least three-feet tall, as well as wide ... this little gal is hungry, she's put out a big spread! And yeah, it really is that hideous pinkish and orange color, too.

I know, nothing to write DCRP about. LOL
    Last edited by DonSchap; 09-28-2007 at 11:07 AM.
    Don Schap - BFA, Digital Photography
    A Photographer Is Forever
    Look, I did not create the optical laws of the Universe ... I simply learned to deal with them.
    Remember: It is usually the GLASS, not the camera (except for moving to Full Frame), that gives you the most improvement in your photography.

flickr & Sdi

Cool I took this with ...

I took this image with the SONY A100 and the cheapest lens I ever bought, the Phoenix AF 28-105mm f/2.8-3.8 zoom lens.

SONY α700 w/ TAMRON SP AF 180mm f/3.5 Di LD (IF) MACRO 1:1
    Name:  A700-w-180-f35.jpg
Views: 5996
Size:  229.5 KB