Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Angry Rebel XTi and studio flash

I just bought the Rebel XTi to start my digital pro experience and when I tried to use my high power studio strobe system I found no connection socket for the flash unit cable, so I tried to use the camera flash to activate the flash units as slaves, but blocking the light into my subject.
    Geee, I tried to sync the speed from 1/200 to 1/2 second and non of these speeds triggered nor synchronized the flash (when activating with camera flash). I have read that Canon suggests 1/60 for this purpose, but nothing.
    I have been using studio lighting for many years. I used then a tested camera hotshoe to PC adapter and a reliable sync cable. Again tried to sync the speed from 1/200 to 1/2 second with no vail.
    I was suggested to double check adapter and cable: nothing. I do not even get the camera to trigger the flash through the sync cable.
    If somebody can help, will very much appreciate.
    Or if someone knows how to address this issue directly to Canon.
    Regards

Quote Originally Posted by jeronimus View Post
    I just bought the Rebel XTi to start my digital pro experience and when I tried to use my high power studio strobe system I found no connection socket for the flash unit cable, so I tried to use the camera flash to activate the flash units as slaves, but blocking the light into my subject.
    Geee, I tried to sync the speed from 1/200 to 1/2 second and non of these speeds triggered nor synchronized the flash (when activating with camera flash). I have read that Canon suggests 1/60 for this purpose, but nothing.
    I have been using studio lighting for many years. I used then a tested camera hotshoe to PC adapter and a reliable sync cable. Again tried to sync the speed from 1/200 to 1/2 second with no vail.
    I was suggested to double check adapter and cable: nothing. I do not even get the camera to trigger the flash through the sync cable.