Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Please recommend a manual for a photoshop newb

Hi guys. I just got a Rebel XTi with three nice lenses, and a MacBook for an around-the-world 9-month trip. However, I'm not very good at retouching my photos with photoshop yet. I'd like to find a compact book (or, preferably, an even more compact DVD) with a decent index. For instance, if teeth need whitening, or red eye needs fixing, or if barrel distortion needs correcting, I just want to look it up & fix it. I'd prefer the book to be photography based- I'm not interested in creating special effects or graphics.

Any recommendations?

Thumbs up If you've got a MacBook...

Quote Originally Posted by @dam View Post
    Hi guys. I just got a Rebel XTi with three nice lenses, and a MacBook for an around-the-world 9-month trip. However, I'm not very good at retouching my photos with photoshop yet. I'd like to find a compact book (or, preferably, an even more compact DVD) with a decent index. For instance, if teeth need whitening, or red eye needs fixing, or if barrel distortion needs correcting, I just want to look it up & fix it. I'd prefer the book to be photography based- I'm not interested in creating special effects or graphics.

Any recommendations?
    Have you tried iLife08, which contains iPhoto '08 (ver. 7)? It's a pretty robust photo editor, able to do most things you mentioned (except perhaps the barrel distortion), and cheap. It will keep your photos well organized too, in trip segments, by dates, or however you want to arrange the events you'll see. And using it is so intuitive that I've never even seen a manual on it, yet I've done lots of image editing with it.

You might want to combine that one with Photoshop Elements to allow your trickier edits, but keeping iPhoto as your organizer? iPhoto can send photos easily to Elements (or other editors) for editing, then when you save from the editor, the edited image is available in iPhoto.
    Let a be your umbrella!