Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Which camera should I buy?

Hi

I'm new to the digital camera world, it seems I'm one of the few still taking photos the old fashioned way!

Anyway, I need some advice on buying a digital camera, so here's a list of what I'll use it for and what features I need, maybe you experts can help me based on that. And yes, I did read the buyer's guide, there are just too many cameras to choose from!

- I take photos spontaneously of street scenes and street art
    - A zoom feature would be useful
    - I don't want anything too heavy or big
    - I need a medium sized memory
    - I don't have that much money to spend, but am willing to pay for a good quality camera that will last me a long time

I hope you guys have some ideas!

I recommend Canon A95. Good lense, using AA battery, flipable LCD but no so compact.

http://pairojvej.fotopic.net

Quote Originally Posted by Olivia

Daytime? Nighttime w/flash?

A little bit of zoom? A lot of zoom? Most cameras have zoom to some extent - how much zoom you want can determine the overall size of the camera

Highly subjective - some like the size of a Panasonic FZ20 - I think it's huge. Can you be a bit more specific?

Memory is purchased separately, so the amount doesn't need to be considered when deciding on a camera.

- I don't have that much money to spend, but am willing to pay for a good quality camera that will last me a long time

Good quality cameras that will last a long time can be had in all price ranges. You can get a good quality $100 camera, and you can get a good quality $1000 camera. If you can be a bit more specific, one can narrow down the choices.

At this point, there are about 500 different cameras out there that will potentially satisfy your requirements. Certainly the A95 is one of them, but there are many others. Your requirements are a bit subjective, so if you care to, by being a bit more specific you will get many more good suggestions.