Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Exclamation Lumix FZ8 - Need Help With Getting "Good" Pictures!!!

I just bought the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ8 last night and read though the manual. I just cant take good pictures! So far, I tried taking pictures in my room and they are ALL blurry. I DO have a steady hand but seems like the slightest bump blurs everything! I tried both image stabalizing modes but I cant get a better picture.

I am not sure how/what the "ISO", Shutter Speed, and some of the other things effect this. I am just learning and as you can see I am not on my way.

I have a Canon Powershot camera also (really cheap) and it has an auto setting that I can shake the camera as fast as I can and it will still take a decent picture. Far better than my Lumix when it is barely touched!

Please Help! I'm at the point of returning the camera!!

The Panasonic will be setting a slow shutter speed because of the lack of light. That means the camera is taking in light for longer, so if the camera moves it blurs the picture. Image stabilisation works, but can't work miracles. You'll have to manually control the shutter speed. Set the camera to shutter priority (S) mode if it has it, and adjust the shutter speed to 1/60 or above and you should get sharp pictures. Be aware that the camera will boost the ISO, so your images will be noisy. It's all compromise.
    Gear List:
    Canon 40D + Sigma 18-50mm + Canon 55-250mm

My Gallery

Are you using the flash? If not, there's really no way to take sharp hand held pictures in low light, such as in your room, without helping the camera out. Even then, you may simply not have enough light in that room.

Cameras need enough light to take a picture. If they detect that there isn't enough light they can do one of three things: