Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Canon Film Cameras

I know this is a digital photography board, but my wife is interested in a Canon film SLR. She prefers the look of the pictures to the ones she gets with her A620. I have found the following at BH for $210, could someone coming out of a film background advise about this camera?

EOS Rebel K2 35mm SLR Autofocus Camera Kit with Canon 28-90mm f/4-5.6 III Lens

She will use it entirely for family snapshots and I can guarantee it will never leave full auto mode. I guess I'm really asking: Will a complete novice get pictures from this camera on full auto that she would prefer to the photos from an A620 (also on full auto)?

I appreciate any thoughts you would like to share.

What about the look does she prefer? And that is a very high price for that 2nd hand camera.
    Canon EOS 350D, Tamron SP AF 90mm F/2.8 macro, Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 DC EX, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM, Tokina AT-X124 Pro 12-24mm F4, Soligor 1.7x C/D4 DG Teleconvertor, Manfrotto 724B tripod, Canon Powershot S30

She is mainly dissatisfied with the indoor shots she gets. Basically redeye and flash blowing out the shot on pictures around the house, lack of flash range for school programs. She has a friend who is also a novice that shot the same program as her with a canon eos film camera (not sure what model). They were seated side by side. She showed me the shots from both cameras to compare, and the film canon shots were much nicer. Both cameras were on full auto. They just appeared to have better metering and white balance (at least on those particular shots).

I'm going the other way and looking to jump from p&s to a 30D or XTI in a couple of months. So, at least we could share EF lenses if she makes the switch (though I doubt she ever changes lenses from a standard zoom).

And thanks for the tip on the price!