Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Canon Rebel XT vs XTi...big difference?

Hi,

I am in the market for a digital SLR camera so that I can significantly upgrade the picture quality from my Canon SD700IS. I am still learning about photography, and want to definitely take an intro course @ my school during this spring or fall, but based on what I have gleaned from these forums and elsewhere, I am definitely leaning towards the Nikkon D80 or Canon Rebel XT. These seem to have the features I would like, and have the capacity to grow with me as I get more advanced, and are within a reasonable price range.

My main question, although I may come back here with others, is whether there is a significant difference between the XT and the XTi. I had read elsewhere that the improvements in the later model weren't that significant (in fact some of the minor things were probably better in the XT). I know that the XTi has a 2 MP advantage on the XT--and if I am upgrading from a 7 MP camera it would be nicer to go to a 10 MP camera than an 8, but given that this is my first time with an SLR camera, I dont know if the difference between 8 and 10 makes a significant difference when you are dealing with that type of camera (e.g. if the quality of the lens is what matters most), but I was wondering if it would be worth the $150-$200 saved to go with the XT--or is the XTi definitely the winner between the two (perhaps for other reasons even besides the MP).

Picture quality is VERY important to me, but I am MOST LIKELY not blowing my pictures up beyond an 8 x 10...if i have some AMAZING pictures, then perhaps. I also primarily take vacation shots, so people, landscapes, inside buildings, etc., and will want this camera for taking family photos as well.

Thanks for any help!

Formerly South Wales. Now South Carolina.
    The postings you read are correct.