Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Digital camera newbie needs help deciding! :)

Hi everyone! I have registered for a digital photography course this fall (an elective for my major) but we need to use our own digital cameras. I have never actually owned a digital camera, but have used them occasionally. In other words, I am a newbie, so I need some help. I filled out the survey below.

Budget

* I was hoping to not spend any more than $500.

Size

* Nothing too huge. I will need to take it to class.

Features

How many megapixels will suffice for you? For the course, it is REQUIRED to have a 3+ mega pixel or larger format

* What optical zoom will you need? (None, Standard = 3x-4x, Ultrazoom = 10x-12x, Other - Specify) No idea!

* How important is “image quality” to you? (Rate using a scale of 1-10) 8

Do you care for manual controls? Yes. It is REQUIRED to have:
    - Manual white balance controls,
    - Manual exposure and shutter controls,
    - Manual or lockable focus

General Usage

* What will you generally use the camera for? Class is the main motivation for buying. But I will be definitely using it for personal use (goodbye disposables!)

* Will you be making big prints of your photos or not? I would like to have that option, but it will not be the deciding factor.

Will you be shooting a lot of indoor photos or low light photos? Probably, yes

Will you be shooting sports and/or action photos? Yes, I know at least one assignment involves this

Miscellaneous

Are there particular brands you like or hate? Not yet

Are there particular models you already have in mind? Unfortunately, no...

In summary, the minimum requirements for the class is:
    • 3+ mega pixel or larger format,
    • Manual white balance controls,
    • Manual exposure and shutter controls,
    • Manual or lockable focus,
    However, I would like something that is above the minimum requirements since it will be for personal use. Perhaps even a video recorder would be neat.