Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

i'm new to filters

I'm looking to buy a DSLR and have no clue about filters. how do i know what size to buy? will they fit on all my lenses? what brands are good?

here a package i was looking at link

anyone else want to recommend a start package

The filter size you need will be given in the specifications on the lens manufacturer's website. It may also be printed on the front of the lens itself.

The most useful filter is a circular polariser. It allows you to suppress reflections and enhance clouds in ways that can't easily be done otherwise. You may want a UV / "protection" filter, but opinion on their usefulness is very much divided - it may protect in some situations, make things worse in others, and will degrade image quality to a greater or lesser extent.

The warmup filter is pointless on a DSLR - you can get the same effect by tweaking the White Balance.

Tiffen aren't bad, but it depends mainly on the coatings, which I didn't find described on that link. Hoya DMC or Pro-DMC are good, the best are probably B+W.

In addition to the round "screw on the front of the lens" type filters, there are also the square type, which are most often used in the form of neatral density graduated filters, used to e.g. darken the sky while leaving the ground bright.

Quote Originally Posted by TeddTucker View Post
    I'm looking to buy a DSLR and have no clue about filters. how do i know what size to buy? will they fit on all my lenses? what brands are good?

here a package i was looking at link

anyone else want to recommend a start package
    With filters, as with most things in life, you get what you pay for. So, if you buy an expensive lens and then stick a cheap filter on the front of it, you've just made a very expensive, cheap lens.