Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 40 of 40
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    California, Mother Lode Country.
    Posts
    345
    ... But does it fire pre-flash? D200 manual (p163-167).
    SB800 does. I don't have manual at my work so I can't look at what you are refering to.
    Last edited by Stoller; 06-01-2007 at 05:54 PM.

    D300
    Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8D, 24-70mm f/2.8G, 70-200mm f/2.8G VR, 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G, Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 EX DC HSM, 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by tcadwall View Post
    I am pretty sure the on-board controller communicates via pre-flash signals to the remote unit(s). I guess I am going to have to confirm this by looking it up... but I think the SU-800 and SB-800 controllers might communicate via another method?

    Ok, without confirming the SU-800 and SB-800 the D80 manual does explain (p 96 - 97) that the pop-up flash will need to be up so that the "timing" sequence can be sent to the remote flash units. It also makes suggestions as mentioned previously to keep iso low, and exposure settings at levels that will not be affected by the pre-flash series.
    This is correct, the camera communicates to the remote flash(s) with "pre-flash signals"; there are no infra red signals. Here's a long exposure that show's the sequence:



    Explanation here: http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/D70/D70P.HTM

    Here's what I think is happening in the shot above:

    D70 fires a "wake up" series of command pulses, to get the attention of any remotes that might be out there, lying dormant. (Note that what looks like a single bright flash here is actually a very rapid series of communication pulses, carrying digital data from the D70 to the remotes.)

    D70 fires a command pulse stream to instruct the remote(s) to get ready to fire a metering pulse.

    D70 fires a single, (low power) trigger pulse. The SB-800 fires in synchrony with it. This is the metering pulse.

    (Then there's a pause, while the D-70 digests the results of the metering pulse, and computes the correct exposure based on its TTL measurement.)

    The D70 fires a series of command pulses, instructing the remotes to get ready for the main exposure flash, and telling them what power level to fire at.

    The D70 fires a single trigger pulse. The SB-800 fires in synchrony with it. This is the main exposure flash.
    -murray

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    California, Mother Lode Country.
    Posts
    345
    This is correct, the camera communicates to the remote flash(s) with "pre-flash signals"; there are no infra red signals. Here's a long exposure that show's the sequence:
    I'm going to have research this, I think the Pre-flashes are for metering...

    D300
    Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8D, 24-70mm f/2.8G, 70-200mm f/2.8G VR, 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G, Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 EX DC HSM, 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by Stoller View Post
    I'm going to have research this, I think the Pre-flashes are for metering...
    IIRC, infra red requires line of site between the camera and the flash. If that's the case, you can put the flash behind some obstruction (a chair, for example) and it will still work.

    -murray

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    101
    Also, from http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/ittlslave.htm

    You have to pop up the camera's built-in flash. The light from the camera's flash becomes the controller and trigger for the other flashes. On a D50, or camera lacking built-in flash, you have to use an SB-800 or SU-800 on the camera as the controller.
    -murray

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    California, Mother Lode Country.
    Posts
    345
    From dpreview.com

    Additionally, for those desiring full creative control of the output of each individual Slave, the photographer can remotely control each of Slave SB-800 Speedlight unitís flash modes directly through the Master unit.

    The Master unit output can even be switched off whilst maintaining full control and communication with Slave units.
    http://www.dpreview.com/news/0307/03...nikonsb800.asp

    I will do some testing when I get home this evening.

    D300
    Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8D, 24-70mm f/2.8G, 70-200mm f/2.8G VR, 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G, Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 EX DC HSM, 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    California, Mother Lode Country.
    Posts
    345
    Ok wireless remote flash is triggered by the on board flash. I think I was getting SB800 operation confused with when I have used the SC-29 TTL remote cable and the SB800. With the cable you don't need the on board flash open and you also don't have the pre-flashes.

    It all boils down to me not using my own equipment enough. Gives us something to chat about, my stupidity
    Last edited by Stoller; 06-01-2007 at 06:27 PM.

    D300
    Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8D, 24-70mm f/2.8G, 70-200mm f/2.8G VR, 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G, Sigma 10-20mm f4-5.6 EX DC HSM, 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 DC Macro

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    God's Country - Australia
    Posts
    10,421
    ok that sorts that out...sooooo, if the "light" so to speak triggers the remote flash why cant the sb400 mounted not do the same ?

    can someone please buy an sb400 and sb600 to sort this out.
    D800e l V3 l AW1 l 16-35 l 35 l 50 l 85 l 105 l EM1 l 7.5 l 12-40 l 14 l 17 l 25 l 45 l 60 l 75
    flickr

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by Rooz View Post
    ok that sorts that out...sooooo, if the "light" so to speak triggers the remote flash why cant the sb400 mounted not do the same ?

    can someone please buy an sb400 and sb600 to sort this out.
    Actually, I don't think an SB600 can't be used as a trigger either, at least not on a D70s.

    -murray

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    793
    Quote Originally Posted by Rooz View Post
    ok that sorts that out...sooooo, if the "light" so to speak triggers the remote flash why cant the sb400 mounted not do the same ?

    can someone please buy an sb400 and sb600 to sort this out.
    The light does trigger the remote flash, but it has to be in a specific sequence to communicate with the remote flash. This sequence of flashes is only available in the commander mode. Do you notice when you take a shot using remote flash that it takes a bit longer for the shutter to fire because of all the preflashes of the popup flash communicating with the remote? The SB400 doesn't have this commander mode built in like the SB800 so it can't control remote flashes. I feel the same Rooz, I wish that it could so I could have a bit of flash onboard the camera to give a bit of fill light. At least your D80 contributes flash to the exposure. Hope this helps. The picture and site that murrays posted is the one I'd read in the past and explained it quite well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •