Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising
 
 
 
   
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: TV/AV settings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3

    TV/AV settings

    When I use these modes on my S3, the setting changes according to the light conditions. A friend of mine told me that when you set the speed in the TV mode or the aperture in the AV mode, the settings shouldn't change but he said maybe that's how this camera works. Is it working the way it should?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    61
    Manual mode will allow you to set both aperture and shutter speed. If you use either separately then the one not set is automatic.
    Canon S3
    Hoya HMC UV
    Hoya HMC Circular Polarizer

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    If I'm in the TV mode and set the shutter speed, when I press the shutter button half way down the shutter speed may change according to the light conditions?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    296
    Quote Originally Posted by mlum View Post
    If I'm in the TV mode and set the shutter speed, when I press the shutter button half way down the shutter speed may change according to the light conditions?
    No, the aperture may change according to light conditions. In AV mode, you set the aperture, and the shutter speed will change. I personally almost always use aperture priority or full manual for my shots.
    Nikon D80 | SIGMA 18-50 f/2.8 EX Macro

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    chill valley
    Posts
    15
    I've had good luck with TV (shutter speed). When takin pics at night or inside a club you might want to force a speed that lets enough light in but keeps people from being blurry. The aperture is chosen but doesn't affect the pics dramatically and is often the same.

    I've had bad luck with AV. I would just go straight to manual mode.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    291
    Quote Originally Posted by mlum View Post
    If I'm in the TV mode and set the shutter speed, when I press the shutter button half way down the shutter speed may change according to the light conditions?
    So, you mean that even if you chose Tv and set your desired shutter speed, it still changes when you press the shutter?

    Please check if you have the "Safety Shift" function turned on. If so, it could be that you have selected a Tv value that the camera thinks is too extreme. With the Safety Shift ON, I think it will try to override your own settings.
    Canon PS G9, PS G7, PS S3IS
    LENS: DCR-6600PRO, DCR-250, DCR-2020PRO, TC-DC58B, TC-DC58C, 500D macro 58
    FILTR: Canon UV 58mm, Raynox PL 52mm, Canon CPL 52mm, Hakuba S-Wide CPL 58mm
    FLASH: Canon 430EX, Canon OC-E3 cord, Sto-fen omni, Panasonic PE-28S

    My flickr

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •