Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Which Nikon DSLR will fit these lenses?

Hello, I'm new here. I have a Nikon 8008 SLR with two Nikkor lenses and a flash.

AF Nikkor 28-80mm 1:3.5-5.6 D
    AF Nikkor 75-300mm 1:45-5.6
    Nikon Speedlight SB-24 (flash)

I purchased this camera around 1990 and it still works GREAT! I love it but can't afford developing. I would like to go digital and keep my lenses and flash. Which camera body will allow this, if any? I'm afraid my lenses and flash may be too old to fit the new models.

I am new to the digital world of photography when it comes to DSLRs. I have a Nikon Coolpix 5700 that has been to the shop twice already, factory defects and has broken once again for no reason. I am very disappointed with this camera and hesitate to go with Nikon again, but I am a huge fan of Nikon SLR and am hoping I just got a lemon.

Please tell me that the DSLRs are made better and I'm stepping up to better quality, should I purchase another Nikon. If there are no cameras that fit my lenses, I will not buy another point and shoot from Nikon, I will continue to use my SLR and go with a little, inexpensive digital from a diff. company. Ouch, that really hurt to say but I have had the worst experience with my Coolpix 5700.

Can someone give me some insight? I'm crossing my fingers that there is a Nikon model that produces beautiful pictures with my old lenses and flash. I'm looking in the lower price range as well.

Thanks so much!!!!

jane

To my knowledge your lenses will fit and autofocus on all the current DSLR's, save the D40. You won't get autofocus with the D40, only manual, but they will mount and work fine.

Not sure about the flash

Help me if I'm wrong here people.
    Nikon D700
    Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G AF-S VR
    Nikon AF-S 24-70mm f/2.8 G ED
    Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 D
    MB-D10
    SB-800 (x2), SU-800
    Canon SD1400IS

Nikon D300 - for sale
    Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S DX - for sale