Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Problems with concert photography!

Hi, im new to this forum so i apologise if this question has been asked before. I go to a few concerts in the UK and i always take my camera (canon ixus 50) however whenever i try and takes photos they come out terrible. Sometimes i am far away from the band and the optical zoom is ok but the images are blurred and i get varied results with the flash on or off. If i get closer to the stage they are better but still not great. The concerts arenas are usually low lit with the stage heavily lit. I suppose this works against the physics of a camera?

i was toying with the idea of upgrading to a digital SLR camera but i am really a novice photographer and not sure i want to carry a large camera around with me

What can i do?

Hope you can help?

Low lighting is your problem, and seldom can a point-and-shoot handle something like a concert hall. Image stabilization may prevent the kind of blur that results from camera shake, but the small sensor, with its poor ISO performance (resulting in noise and loss of detail) and less powerful optics system (probably smaller apertures as well) combine to make it pretty tough to get good images.

An SLR would help - even then you'd need to acquire a fast (large aperture) lens, but with that you'd be much better suited to getting good photos. Most entry-level SLRs have pretty good auto modes, meaning that you can rely on the camera's settings as you progressively learn how to manipulate them. But it is larger (a "prime" - fixed magnification, no zoom - lens with a good wide aperture at about 50mm is not a huge lens, though, making it easier to lug), and unless you pay some pretty big bucks, you won't be getting a whole lot of zoom with a wide-aperture lens.
    Nikon D40 + kit lens

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 D AF(...or not)