Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Can you tell me about these Lenses?

I have two lenses that came with my Minolta Maxxum 400si. One says: AF Zoom 0.5m/1.6ft AF 35-70. It also says the following in the front of the lens around the glass Minolta AF 35-70 1:3.5(22)-4.5 49mm.

The second Lens says: AF 70-210 Around the Lens it says: Minolta AF Zoom 70-210mm 1:4.5(22)-5.6 49mm.

Are these good lenses? I am considering purchasing a new camera and wonder if these lenses should be part of a deciding factor for getting a Sony Alpha? I'm torn between the Sony and the Canon.

I am new to this DSLR stuff, and didn't use the Maxxum for very long. Though I thought the quality of the pictures were so much better than any of the cameras I had previously, I never had other 35mm cameras to compare it to. It wasn't long after I got the Maxxum that I jumped to digital and I am now ready to jump to DSLR.

Now I just need to know if these are quality lenses, or will I need to purchase new lenses anyway? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thumbs up Excellent start!

Quote Originally Posted by mmerry View Post
    I have two lenses that came with my Minolta Maxxum 400si. One says: AF Zoom 0.5m/1.6ft AF 35-70. It also says the following in the front of the lens around the glass Minolta AF 35-70 1:3.5(22)-4.5 49mm.

The second Lens says: AF 70-210 Around the Lens it says: Minolta AF Zoom 70-210mm 1:4.5(22)-5.6 49mm.

Are these good lenses? I am considering purchasing a new camera and wonder if these lenses should be part of a deciding factor for getting a Sony Alpha? I'm torn between the Sony and the Canon.

I am new to this DSLR stuff, and didn't use the Maxxum for very long. Though I thought the quality of the pictures were so much better than any of the cameras I had previously, I never had other 35mm cameras to compare it to. It wasn't long after I got the Maxxum that I jumped to digital and I am now ready to jump to DSLR.