Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    snaphappy Guest

Lens Advice for Rebel XTi

I just purchased a Rebel XTi and I would like to replace the kit lens. I want an all in one lens that I can keep on my camera. I'm new to DSLR and enjoy photographing my children, flowers, wildlife and scenery. Our vacation this year will consist of traveling through the Blue Ridge Mountains, stops at museums and the beach. I don't want to have to change lenses.

I don't want to spend more than $400 and am willing to buy used/demo if I can find a reputable reseller. I've narrowed my choices down to four. I lean towarded Canon lenses, even though I lose the wider angle. My first choice is the Canon 28-135 IS USM. The Canon lenses will hold their value over the third party lenses which is another factor. Sigma and Tamron offer the lenses with the most range, but I have been told by some fellow Canon owners that I won't be happy with the way they focus or the sharpness of the pictures. I tried the Sigma and the pictures seem a bit soft to me. I would really like to hear from people who actually own any of the lenses I am considering, which are:

Canon 28-105, f3.5-4.5 USM
    Canon 28-135, f3.5-4.5 IS USM
    Tamron 18-200, f.3.5-6.3 DiII
    Sigma 18-200, f.3.5-6.3 DG

Thanks in advance for your advice. Also, has anyone ordered from Keh.com? Positive or negative experience? Thanks.

You can check for yourself the loss of 18-28mm on your kitlens. Are you sure you will not want to have the wide end for views on vacations??

Anyway. The Sigma 18-200 is better than the Tamron. So, if you already are unhappy about a Sigma 18-200 you tried you will be less happy with the Tamron.
    Canon EOS 350D, Tamron SP AF 90mm F/2.8 macro, Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 DC EX, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM, Tokina AT-X124 Pro 12-24mm F4, Soligor 1.7x C/D4 DG Teleconvertor, Manfrotto 724B tripod, Canon Powershot S30

Lightbulb Consider the Tamron 18-250mm