Home News Buyers Guide About Advertising

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

lifespan of rechargeable batteries

hi all,

i have myself 4 energizer 2500mah NiMH batteries that i have been recharging and using fairly regularly since july/august 2006.

my question is this: does there come a point in the batteries' lives that they do not perform as they once did, due to the ongoing recharging process

currently ill fully charge my batteries, use them in my S3 IS, and then they will simply die on me in a much shorter time than they use to

is this normal (and so replacements are in order)
    or is my camera got some kind of energy draining disorder now

thanks for your time,
    Canon Powershot S3 IS
    Canon EOS 40D + Battery Grip BG-E2N | EF 24-70mm f/2.8 L USM | EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | EF 85mm f/1.8 USM | EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS USM II | 580EX II |
    Flickr - blentley
    CSC

Yes, I have found this to be the case pretty much with all types of rechargeable batteries.

Battery Life

I am also concerned about battery life. On my cell phone battery, the charge only lasts for 1/2 hour than must be re-charged again. I've had the phone for a couple of years. I read somewhere that we should only expect the battery to last for 200 charges. After that, the battery will not hold a charge for a long time and should be discarded.

NiMH batteries have a life cycle of 500-1000 recharges. While it?s normal for capacity to decrease over the life the battery, many batteries lose a great deal of their capacity due to bad charging processes.